Tooting Our Own Horn: NEWSPA Awards 2017


Bensen leads with four awards

The West Bend Current set a school record with 21 individual awards from the Northeastern Wisconsin Scholastic Press Association in a statewide contest for high school journalists.

Student reporters from the West Bend High Schools earned first place in six categories. Fifteeen writers were recognized overall. Editor in chief Hannah Bensen led the staff with four awards, including second place for her story about an English teacher concerned about how President Trump’s travel ban might affect her family.

“One of the things that I really like about your coverage is the way that your staff is willing to wade into contentious issues,” said judge Deb Rothenberger. “That is a hard thing for young journalists to do. Your coverage reflects a good mix of things that students are thinking about, or should be thinking about.”

Justin Scherzer earned first place in the general news category for his story about local students who attended President Trump’s inauguration in January. Lilian Velez and Mattie Zautner topped the academic news category with their profile of two new music teachers.

In the sports news category, Anthony Schlass won for his story about four teammates each being courted to play Division I baseball. Auburn Larson took first place for sports feature by spotlighting five tennis players with perfect GPAs.

Kaitlyn Von Behren earned the top prize for personality profile by interviewing a retired math teacher now acclaimed for his nature paintings. In the news feature category, Alina Prahl was given first place by sitting down with a mother and daughter divided over the presidential election.

For the third year in a row, NEWSPA gave blue ribbon honors to The Current for a website not published as part of a journalism class.

Full List of Awards

The Current competed in the large school division of the NEWSPA contest. The student news site is advised by Eric Beltmann.

(Photo by Hailey Schwartz, East English teacher.)

1 Comment

Filed under School News and Features

One response to “Tooting Our Own Horn: NEWSPA Awards 2017

  1. Mark Drake

    Congrats Current staff & Mr. Beltmann for another very successful year! I appreciate your willingness to report on major stories to inform & entertain our community. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s