The Current Staff Recognized by the Wisconsin Newspaper Association

Eight total awards is a new school record

Four members of the West Bend Current earned six first place prizes in a statewide contest.

The Current earned eight total awards in the 2019 Wisconsin Newspaper Association contest for student journalism, which sets a new school record.

Editor in Chief Samantha Dietel led the staff with four WNA awards, including first place for her general reporting about students asking the district to recognize Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Dietel’s five-part series about school safety earned top honors for in-depth reporting. Her article about French exchange students experiencing U.S. security measures garnered first place in the feature story category.

Caitlin Marsch won in the editorial category for her piece about political discussions in schools. Auburn Larson’s report about practice being disrupted by unusual weather took the top prize for sports story. In the news/feature photography category, Olivia Langdon earned first place honors for her photo of a choir teacher.

Last month the Current earned a total of 29 awards in the 2019 Northeastern Wisconsin Scholastic Press Association contest. The student news site is advised by Eric Beltmann.

Full List of WNA Awards

Samantha Dietel, Editor in Chief

Caitlin Marsch

Auburn Larson

Olivia Langdon

Elise Marlett

Lauren Oppermann


Leave a comment

Filed under School News and Features

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s